top of page
Search
  • maddymac

Just Beginning

Today marks day three of not washing my hair at all. I decided recently that I wanted to give this whole "no poo" trend a try. When I first heard about the trend I was skeptical not only of its validity for others, but for how it would work on my own hair. I have incredibly fine hair that is easily damaged. I have bleached and dyed it for many years. When I first wash my hair it is very dry and poofy and then within two days it becomes very flat and greasy. It's incredibly frustrating try to get my hair to cooperate for anything; so I was not exactly keen to the idea of switching up my routine even more. After hearing more about this trend and reading more about it over the last few years I have decided to give it a try! My goals for ditching shampoo are to (1) have my hair balance out its oil levels, making it more predictable and manageable, and (2) reduce my impact on the environment by reducing waste, water usage and harmful chemical output.


Today I am going to try an alternative to shampoo for the first time. It has been only three days since I washed with shampoo, but from what I have read it seems as though easing your hair into this style is easier than going cold turkey. I have tried to determine what the best alternative to shampoo would be, but there are so many options and opinions it is hard to decide! One popular option is using baking soda and I already have that so I am going to give it a try.


I prepared my baking soda solution by mixing about a tablespoon in with some water (I wasn't that exact to be honest). The solution was like a thicker liquid, slightly thinner than milk I guess. I also mixed in a few drops of Jojoba oil. I already had this oil because it is commonly used for gauging ears (which I do). It is also supposed to be really good for hair and nails, so I am going to give it a try! I will post updates about how I feel about this solution and any updates!

44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Too soon to be too excited?

After washing my hair with my make shift baking soda solution yesterday, I just let it air dry and slept on it like I always do. I was expecting to wake up to a greasy, tangled mess, but I was pleasan

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page